Equine Kissing Game

20160829_091923

Dollar has been creating a lot of playful fun for me these days. He use to be rather aloof and withdrawn, and seemed simply the “money man,” in reference to his name and the $ brand he came with. I would communicate with him mostly regarding that topic. Lately, however, since he’s become the new leader here when Apolinaire died, he has been actively involved in significant and amazing  therapeutic work with clients and myself. In addition to that, he is also revealing his light hearted side.

I’ve discovered he understands what I’m saying without my teaching him with an action and reward system. It’s been one of his closely held secrets! The playful part is kissing. When I spontaneously asked him for a kiss one day without any expectation, he responded immediately by presssing his muzzle ever so softly against my face. Such a heavenly feeling…the warmth of his gentle muzzle nicely scented with horsey breath fresh from the earth; and the serendipity of the horse and human interaction.

Kissing has now become a common occurrence with Dollar and me. If he doesn’t feel like it, he will stand stoney faced with no acknowledgement. Sometimes though, he’ll look at me with almost human eyes and say, “Naw, I don’t think so.”  I giggle and that’s when I ask if I can kiss him. Instantly like a statue coming alive, he’ll turn his cheek or forehead to me or some other part of his face, or nod his head, “yes.”

Such fun playing his equine kissing game! It brings to me memories of childhood delights and a reminder that the earth is God’s playground. We get to experience the joys of the physical realm while our souls are dancing in unseen worlds.

4 thoughts on “Equine Kissing Game

  1. Great to read! Absolutely engaging and enjoyable to read about the connection you have! Found it very heart warming to be honest 🙂 I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future.

    (Check out my latest blog post if you can! I’m new!)

    Like

    1. Thank you for your response
      If you are ever on the Northern California Coast, stop by for an interaction with Dollar or another member of the herd. We’d love it. Good luck blogging.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Sophie, and sharing your delightful response. It has been so much fun to be a part of Dollar’s “coming out” of his closely held secrets! Quite a character. If you are near Ft. Bragg, California now or in the future, please stop by. Contact me at bevodill@yahoo.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

