Living Beyond Old Perspectives

Kaheka doing his work
Kaheka doing his work

He is a lanky thoroughbred off the race track, and has been known to fly across the pasture or through deep mud when his rear engines kick in. I swear his hooves don’t touch the ground; well, maybe they do a little, though mostly I think not. His name is Kaheka. Lately he’s been laid up with a stubborn abscess that has kept him lame even with daily exercise that helps with recovery. But today Kaheka made it quite clear that he wanted to go out in the pasture to join the other 5 horses. He had work to do I later learned.

Though he has been with the others recently, I was hesitant because yesterday he was not walking well. He seemed to have regressed and I was concerned about the potential for further injury when chased by another horse. He doesn’t always think too clearly when he’s on the escape. Last night I had made a typically fearful assessment that perhaps something worse was going on; but here he was today at the gate defying my doomsday prognosis.

Kaheka manages himself and his healing amazingly well, and he has shown steady improvement consistent with his self discipline. When he was at his worst, he seemed to know how often to lie down, when to get up, and how far to walk. Better than most humans, I suspect. Because of that I trust his judgment. I opened the gate and he walked through without hesitation as I silently railed on myself for being so reckless. Then in fulfillment of my fears, Kaheka’s thoroughbred engine fired up immediately and before I could catch up with my feelings, he was down the runway and across the pasture in a full gallop. He headed directly toward the most dominant horses here, one with a mean gleam who likes to chase hard. What I was witnessing was both awesome and terrifying! Exhilaration and icy carbonated fear engulfed my chest holding my breath in suspension but not in that magical way.

As I was preparing to intervene, these words came clearly to me and I simultaneously sank back into stillness, “Can you allow him to be well?”  I got it like a dart hitting a bulls eye. I was doing the conventional thing, holding him in lameness. Then just as I was recovering, the next pointed question came with proper emphasis for me to really get it. “Can you allow yourself to be well?” Translated that meant, “Can you let go of convention and allow a new perspective on your soul? To be well in that mystical way of living with manifestations of gifts, even mystical gifts of which you aren’t yet aware?” The words pierced through to my heart. The Divine had spoken and my resistance lay helpless at my feet. The horses rolled in the dirt for the joy of it, and a quiet peacefulness settled in over us all.

Kaheka’s name means “tide pool” in Hawaiian. Tide pools are a world of hidden mysteries, beauty, and intrigue all to be explored and discovered. At first these sea creatures appear as rough textures, and may even be uninteresting to the eye, but then the joyful surprise as they come out of their closets and reveal themselves from a whole new perspective. This is a reflection of the human soul, often times a ruggedly camouflaged world of mystery ready to magically unfold, a portal in waiting to be unveiled. That is what Kaheka came to do. That is his work. He unveils the hidden, that good stuff which is tucked away undercover deep in our souls, those parts of the holy grail for which we long, those parts that have been stifled by old perspectives. Today, Kaheka did an unveiling on me. He did his work in the pasture, stretching me beyond my old perspectives. And, the tide pools opened up and danced.

4 thoughts on “Living Beyond Old Perspectives

  1. Wow! What a beautifully written work. Makes one stop and think. I grew up with horses and I long for the day I can have these beautiful creatures again in my life. again wow.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Calleigh. I send good wishes your way that the day will come sooner than later. Horses are so rich with magic and will take us there too if we humans will just get quiet and listen. I’d love to hear more about your experiences with horses especially since you grew up with them. What is your fondest memory?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

