“The Neon Light”: A Synchronicity

Very angry, I was spinning nasty email responses in my head to the offender as I maneuvered my car through midday traffic. Clutching the steering wheel tightly, impatient to get home so I could pound out my justifiable but inflammatory message on my keyboard, I was stuck behind a vehicle that wasn’t moving. It was an SUV with its license plate nearly at eye level, literally staring me in the face. “PLNT JOY” it read like a neon light. Plant Joy!

I both laughed and cringed at the same time still holding onto my anger. It was the same message my 4-legged Shaman Tal had been giving me this past month. In fact, I sneaked a quick look around wondering to whom else he had been whispering.

There was a brief struggle between my intended angry response that fed feelings of exhileration and on the flip side, I was quietly wondering what planting joy would look like in this situation. I resolved it by speaking about the infraction in a tone that was less inflammatory. The results were rewarding, and interesting opportunities to plant joy have been arising since then, even in the form of a budding rose from my garden placed on a doorstep.

The message, I believe, is deeper than bringing random acts of joy to others which is indeed a fulfilling experience. But Tal seems to be nudging me to that place of not only giving it, but receiving it deeply into my soul, dwelling in the garden of joy.

Leave a Reply

