Four-Legged Flower Child

Late one afternoon, I sat in a weathered redwood armchair sketching two of my horses while they grazed. It had been a stressful day for me. Mariah, I noticed, was munching grasses very close to me, standing behind the chair almost touching me. I felt the warm comfort of her presence.

As she moved around in front of me, I started sketching her face. She walked over to me and casually dropped a few green grasses from her mouth on my drawing. At first I didn’t pay much attention. It was just bits and pieces of green pasture I had thought.

When I went back to sketching, I glanced, caught a breath, and then looked again. What she had placed on my paper below the drawing was a tiny bouquet of flowers so very delicate from the mixed flowering grasses of the fields. It is apparent that Mariah had made a deal with a resident flower fairy who arranged them perfectly just for me. Then Mariah coyly delivered them to my sketch pad that carried the charcoal image of her beautiful face.

I was enchanted, and overcome with joy. These are the things that are important in life, things that bring messages to the heart, and lift the veil between the worlds.

Leave a Reply

