Intellect vs Intuitive

charcoal sketch by bev

Kaheka was grinding his teeth today and swallowing excessively. I cringed with the sound, remembering my school days and fingernails across the blackboard. Kaheka is so sensitive to dietary changes, I worried about too many apples last night from the old apple tree in the pasture, or maybe too rapid of an increase of rice bran which I try to do gradually.

I had read that teeth grinding can indicate pain or discomfort. I feared colic given his propensity to a sensitive tummy. I tried to tune in, did a little energy work with my hands, heard some strong rumblings in his belly, mentioned a particular homeopathic remedy that came to my mind. He’s very energetically receptive to my speaking the name of the remedy even without giving it to him, a discovery I made when he was acting as a surrogate messenger. (Surrogate Messenger, Parts 1-5But this time, nothing changed.

I kept getting an impression to throw him some hay. My intellect kept arguing, “Don’t be ridiculous, you don’t give him food if he is experiencing colic.”  So I brushed the thought away like it was a nagging child. Finally in a moment of brilliance, I stepped back from the incessant and dictatorial mind chatter. I invited back my intuitive thought about feeding him hay. I went for it. He ate and was fine, showing no more signs of discomfort.

It was only after intuition took the lead that the logic was revealed. The intellect had acted from an erroneous premise that it was colic that was making Kaheka uncomfortable in which case no food should be offered. In the actual case, the opposite was true. Kaheka, a typical high metabolism thoroughbred, was uncomfortable because he didn’t have enough to eat because I was cutting back on hay and letting the horses eat more from pasture. According to equine nutritionist, Dr. Juliet M. Getty, in her comprehensive reference book, Feed Your Horse Like a Horse, horses need access to food (grass hay) 24/7 because of the unique design of their digestive systems. (Her eloquently written book explains why it is necessary, and how the horses ultimately adjust to eating the right amount).

Following my intuition and throwing Kaheka some hay turned out to be the right thing and I later realized that it made total sense. He and I both went happily on with our day.

Leave a Reply

