Conversations: Mucking Break

charcoal drawing by bev
I was mucking manure near Apolinaire. I accidentally hooked his big nostril with my little pinkie as I was whirling around too quickly with a fork full of manure for the cart. He seemed a bit offended, or maybe just startled out of his sleep. I apologized profusely and tried to kiss his soft muzzle. He pulled away. Such a typical response from him. He told me he didn’t like me making over him like that. I asked why. He said because there are more important things to be taking care of… I understood that to mean in the spiritual realm. I was patronizing him. That was wasting time being inauthentic. We have other work to be doing, he said. I got his point. Time is of the essence.

Leave a Reply

