Introducing the Herd: Kaheka


How He Came to Me

A horse trainer who rescues horses called me to let me know she had a horse to pass on to me if I were interested. I headed off to Oregon to the area where I had grown up to meet this four-legged guy that seemed to be calling me, to see if we connected. Interestingly, when I met him I felt nothing one way or another. However, I couldn’t deny that it seemed an interesting opportunity to provide a companion for Apolinaire especially since I had a vacancy in my pasture.

I spent the evening pondering the decision clutching for indicators. While conversing with the trainer that night on the telephone, I got my first ray of light. His name was Kaheka Boy and she told me what “kaheka” meant. It is Hawaiin for tide pool. His name was Tide Pool Boy. That was it! Tide pools speak of camouflage, and mystery to be discovered. And until that point camouflage had kept the decision from being clear. Now with a sense of confidence I said yes to Kaheka’s coming to live with us. Arrangements were made for his delivery, a seven hour trip. As I drove back home to California alone, droning away hours on the freeway, I started singing a song I use to play in church…a beautiful song. I loved the piano arrangement and could hear it as I sang the song over and over.

On down the road, I stopped at a gas station. As I walked out of the restroom, I was brought to a halt by what I saw directly in front of me. There hanging on a rack was a pink T-shirt facing me with a picture of a herd of horses. This is not the end of the story. To my amazement, on that T-shirt below the picture of the horses was a quote from the very song I had been singing about 45 minutes earlier. My eyes grew big as I tried to grasp what was happening, a spiritual epiphany in the most unlikely of places. A gas station. A strange coming together of events… a T-shirt strategically placed, with a herd of horses which is my passion, words from a religious song and the very one I had been singing. Tidepool Boy was carving a place in my heart in a most dramatic way…a mystery unfolding.

Though the color was wrong and the size too small, I had to have that T-shirt! If there had been any particle of doubt lingering (which there was), there was no chance now of its survival. It was my heart that began to sing this time with a deep knowing that a very magical horse was coming to live with me.

Physical Features

Kaheka is a well proportioned chestnut thoroughbred who had been raced, jumped, and trained in dressage…and is a beautiful mover. When the herd races across the pasture, Kaheka is in his best form as he overtakes the rest of the herd with long legs reaching for the finish line first.

Spiritual Attributes

Kaheka has stayed true to his name, “tide pool boy”. He is a healer, and unveilor of mysteries that have been camouflaged. He has been the catalyst for transformative dreams revealing hidden gifts for those who have connected with him. He is also the social chairman making sure the herd is together, and though low in the pecking order with the herd of 6, knows how to find the best tasting food and sometimes is the bravest. He is also highly sensitive reflecting immediately the emotions of humans that have come into his space.

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5

Leave a Reply

