Moments of Perfect Peace: new ways of seeing


photo by chandra smith

Friend and reader writes:

When I’m behind the camera lens I experience a perfect meditative peace. My trifling, every day thoughts fade and I become quietly aware. I notice things I would normally walk past without a second glance. As I discover an entire universe inside the velvet petals of a flower, Time slows and then stops. I see poetry in the pattern of foam an ocean wave leaves behind in the sand. I am startled by the eloquence in a jigsaw of discarded cigarette butts in the Safeway parking lot.

Taking photographs is my happiness and calm. It both energizes and soothes me. Before I know it the whole gritty chaos of the world becomes heartbreakingly beautiful.

Click here to view photos.

Leave a Reply

